Russia mulls response to non-EU nations who have joined EU sanctions

Associated Press

Russia's prime minister has ordered to draft retaliatory measures against several non-EU European nations that have joined the European Union's sanctions against Russia.

Dmitry Medvedev instructed officials Tuesday to consider counter-sanctions against the countries, which he didn't name.

Continue Reading Below

Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway, Montenegro, Albania, Moldova and Ukraine joined the EU sanctions last week.

The U.S. and the EU responded to Moscow's annexation of Crimea and support for pro-Russian insurgents in eastern Ukraine by hitting Russia with sanctions, which have cut its access to capital markets and banned transfers of military and energy technologies.

In August 2014, Moscow retaliated to these sanctions by banning many Western agricultural products. Last month, the Kremlin extended the ban following the EU's decision to extend its sanctions through January.