The house where L.L. Bean raised a family and started the iconic outdoors outfitter that bears his name is getting a makeover to restore it to its historic state.
The work, which includes repairs and replacement of siding, roof shingles, porch columns, windows, doors and a coat of paint, is scheduled to be reviewed by the Freeport Planning Board on July 9.
Continue Reading Below
The Queen Anne-style Victorian just a few blocks from the flagship L.L. Bean store houses some offices and the company's archives, including a vast collection of original documents, photographs, possessions and products.
The Portland Press Herald (http://bit.ly/1o9d41R ) reports that the project would return the home to its appearance in about 1912.
The house was built in 1888 and bought by Bean and his first wife in the early 1900s.
Information from: Portland Press Herald, http://www.pressherald.com