General Mills To Recall Cheerios And Honey Nut Cheerios Due To Allergen

By MarketWatch Pulse

General Mills Inc. said Monday it is voluntarily recalling several days of production of its Cheerios and Honey Nut Cheerios cereal produced at its Lodi, California facility on certain dates in July because they contain wheat, a known but undeclared allergen. About 1.8 million boxes of cereal after affected, according to a spokesperson. The wheat was introduced in an isolated incident in which wheat flour was inadvertently added to the gluten-free oat flour system, the food company said in a statement. "Products containing wheat can cause illness or severe reactions for individuals with wheat allergies or celiac disease," said the statement. Consumers seeking further information can call 1-800-775-8370.

Copyright © 2015 MarketWatch, Inc.

Continue Reading Below