Jeroen Dijsselbloem re-elected for second term as head of eurozone finance ministers group

Associated Press

Dutchman Jeroen Dijsselbloem has been re-elected for a second term as president of the Eurogroup, the eurozone finance ministers' group.

The Council of the European Union made the announcement in a tweet.

Continue Reading Below

The Dutch finance minister, who has taken a tough line with Greece through months of drawn-out negotiations over the country's financial crisis, tweeted his thanks Monday to his fellow ministers in the 19-nation group.

The Eurogroup takes key policy decisions about the European single currency.

Dijsselbloem's only challenger for the job was his Spanish counterpart Luis de Guindos, who had been publicly backed by European heavyweight Germany.

The term is two and half years long.