Group Of Seven Say They'll Cooperate, Support Markets After Brexit Vote

The Group of Seven finance ministers and central bank governors issued a statement Friday saying they'll cooperate and support markets following the British referendum to leave the European Union. "We recognize that excessive volatility and disorderly movements in exchange rates can have adverse implications for economic and financial stability," the statement said. "G7 central banks have taken steps to ensure adequate liquidity and to support the functioning of markets. We stand ready to use the established liquidity instruments to that end." The Group of Seven is the United States, Canada, France, Germany, Italy, Japan, and the United Kingdom.

Copyright © 2016 MarketWatch, Inc.