8 recipients awarded Carnegie Medal of Philanthropy for dedicating wealth to public good

Associated Press

Eight recipients have been awarded the 2015 Carnegie Medal of Philanthropy.

The Carnegie Corporation of New York made the announcement Tuesday. The award was established in 2001 to honor individuals "who dedicate private wealth to the public good."

Continue Reading Below

The recipients are:

— Paul Allen, Microsoft co-founder and philanthropist

— Charles Feeney, founder of The Atlantic Philanthropies

— Jeremy and Hanne Grantham, environmental philanthropists

— The Haas family, Pennsylvania philanthropists

— Jon M. Huntsman Sr., a Utah philanthropist and founder of the Huntsman Cancer Institute

— Irwin and Joan Jacobs, San Diego philanthropists

— Brothers Robert and Richard Menschel, New York philanthropists

— David Rubenstein, a culture and education philanthropist

The award had been bestowed every two years but will now be awarded annually.

The recipients will be honored Oct. 15.