Euronext index publication hit by new glitch

Features Reuters

PARIS (Reuters) - Exchange operator NYSE Euronext <NYX.N> on Thursday was hit by another glitch as it said the publication of all indexes based on European share markets was momentarily suspended.

Continue Reading Below

The bourse operator said the dissemination of indexes was suspended since 1428 GMT (10:28 a.m. EDT) and at 1526 GMT (11:26 a.m. EDT), it said publication had resumed but warned there could be some delays.

"All indices' values broadcasted between 1428 GMT and 1521 GMT are incorrect and need to be ignored," the operator said on its website.

The glitch affected the indexes of Paris, Brussels, Amsterdam and Lisbon.

NYSE Euronext, which runs bourses across Europe and the United States, suffered several glitches in recent months that disrupted trading and led to some trade cancellations in Paris and elsewhere.

Earlier this week, executives of NYSE Euronext, which has agreed to merge with Deutsche Boerse AG <DB1Gn.DE>, said they were aware of the recent problems and were working to solve them.

Continue Reading Below

"We have identified the root cause of these outages, we have stabilized the environment, and we are putting in place the infrastructure that will prevent these outages from occurring in the future," CEO Duncan Niederauer said conference call with analysts and reporters.

(Reporting by Astrid Wendlandt in Paris; Additional reporting by Jonathan Spicer in New York; Editing by Christian Plumb)